Tags

, , , , , ,

???????????????????????????????

Last night while I was preparing dinner, my LO was hanging around me keeping herself busy with pans, spoons and water. She went to throw something in the trash and the spoon she was playing with fell into the trash too, she immediately went after her spoon trying to fish it out. I, like most mothers would, exclaimed and asked her to bring the spoon over so I could wash both the spoon and her hands.

For some weird reason, my reaction brought a flash back of a trip my husband and I had taken a few years back. It was back in Kenya, we went to view one of the most amazing natural attractions in our country, which is the wilder beast migration from the Kenya side to the Tanzania side at the Maasai mara. It was an amazing trip filled with nature and lots of wild animals and beautiful sunrises and no electricity so no TV or any other obstructions we have become accustomed to.

The Maasai people are the native people in that area and they are one of the only tribes that remain untouched by modern day technology. They still hunt for food, and herd sheep, goats and cattle.They have no electricity or running water although they all do have cellphones that they have to go charge at the town center. They are as basic as can be and their was of life is an attraction too to tourist. On the last day of our trip we went to visit a Maasai homestead to see how they live.

They live in mud huts with grass thatched roofs, they share their homestead with their livestock and share their huts with the baby cows and goats, to keep them safe. When you walk in to the homestead, it is evident they share their space with their livestock because their is animal poop all over. There are flies all over as the poop attracts them. The Maasai people believe that you don’t chase away a fly when it lands on you because chasing it away would be chasing away good fortune. So when the flies land on them they stay on them as long as they please. Their children play in the midst of all the poop and they are taught not to chase the flies away. One image really struck a cord in me, there was this small girl, she couldn’t have been more that 2 yrs old and she was on the ground playing with a tab of blue pills that someone had discarded on the ground. No one seemed to notice or care that she was playing with pills. Proper hygiene is really not observed, and water is not easily nor readily available.

And in the midst of all the animals, and poop and disease infested flies and lack of knowledge the Maasai don’t have any outbreaks of unusual diseases. Their bodies and systems have adapted to the environment and the germs.

On the other hand since I moved to the US  and a few other people I know, my immunity has weakened. I used to be able to eat just about anything including street foods on the road while traveling. I had no known allergies but now I have become very sensitive, I have to be cautious about what I eat and I know of a lot of immigrants who start getting sicker easily the longer they live here.

So is it possible the anti bacterial soaps, antibacterial wipes, hand sanitizers and excessive cleaning of hands, could probably not be good for us, is it possible that exposure to dirt could be good for us.

