Tags

, , , , , ,

Being away from home sometimes makes me question my decision to be away. I never left home because I wanted but I left to join my husband in the states and start a family. Some days offcourse are better than others.

Before we had Nia I did not question the decision as much. But once we had her and not having people around us to help out with her led to me questioning it a lot. So I recently looked up the story of Ruth in the bible. I looked it up because we always hear about Ruth as the archetypal wife, and because I wanted some encouragement.

After Ruth’s husband passed away, she decided to follow her mother-in-law Naomi Ruth bibleback to her original land. Saying

‘’Don’t urge me to leave you or to turn back from you. Where you go I will go, and where you stay I will stay. Your people will be my people and your God my God.  Where you die I will die, and there I will be buried. May the Lord deal with me, be it ever so severely, if even death separates you and me.”

And for her loyalty and dedication to her mother in law, God blessed her and she became the great grandmother of Israel’s great king David.

I find great comfort in this story and other verses in the Bible based on marriage. I know being away from home to be with my husband is what is supposed to happen. We are supposed to leave our fathers and mothers to start new families and that is the circle of life.

I also know marriage and family and having kids is not easy for anyone regardless of whether you are home or not. Sometimes having family around could be the cause of conflict, sometimes being away from home is good for a relationship because you learn how to depend on each other and listen to each other without a lot of influence. Sometimes being exposed to different ways of life is more valuable to your relationship.

The bottom line is starting a life and family has its challenges no matter what your situation is. I think what matters most in the end is how you deal with the situation you have been dealt, how you make your life your own and learn from all the lessons. Everyone’s situation is unique in its own way and at the same time no ones situation is unique. There is always someone somewhere going through the same thing you are, we should not waste our lives dwelling on the what if’s and instead learn how to live in the here and now. We never know what the future holds and how long we have on this earth.marriage quote

