Tags

, , , , , , ,

Children in holding cell - Texas

Children in holding cell – Texas

Lately you can’t go a day without hearing about the border crisis. This is the border between the US and Mexico. A lot of minors mainly from Central America, are risking their lives and crossing the border unaccompanied. Many are sent by their own parents while others are coming to look for their parents.

Looking at the issue from the outside looking in, it seems like the solution is so easy, they need to go back home and get their paperwork in order and come over the legal way. I felt this way about the situation; the solution seems so black and white. Letting them stay over will only encourage more of them to come over. Already more than 60,000 minors have crossed the border just this year. Why would they risk their lives going through the border like that, they have no food no water for days, and they have to cross through a desert, and not to mention the trip from South America to Mexico, they spend thousands of dollars for the whole trip. So why can’t they spend that money on making life a little better for themselves there.

I felt this way until I read an article about how the first group of kids had been deported back to their country. The kid’s ages ranged from 1.5years old to 16 years old. Something about seeing that age group put down on paper tore at my heartstrings. A 1.5year old baby sent back like a stray dog, I pictured my little baby having to go through that and preserver all that suffering. And I tried putting myself in the mother’s shoes. How difficult would life have to be to sacrifice your child like that?

Sometimes talking about statistics and numbers helps make a problem and solution so easy. But when we start putting a face, a name, an age, we start realizing that this are human being just like us, it makes the issue and solutions so complex. I have heard stories of gangs in South America and how they go to schools to recruit gang members. I have seen images of the violence and the poverty that exists. Being an immigrant myself and having come from Africa, I know the true face of poverty, I have seen it and know how many people have done desperate things to survive. And if this country can offer a better future for their children, who look like they don’t have a future, if this country can protect them from the violence and gang related deaths, if this country can provide a future that is not related to drug cartels. Then how can we question them, how can we tell them to go and apply for visas and work permits, how can we turn a cold shoulder.

I have no clue how to deal with the border crisis; I believe it’s a very complicated issue that doesn’t have a simple solution. I just wish we could put a face to it, and sympathies and empathies with those families as fellow members of the human race.

